With Jesus, There is No Such Thing as Too Late

Anonymous asked:

Recently I have been disappointed in myself and received delays in my life. I am 24 years old and am almost done with my AA and I feel that God is pushing me backwards a few steps. Everyone around me are finishing school and getting their degrees and starting their lives. I feel left behind and when I do want to get up and go, I end up back where I started. I feel like giving up and a failure. My dad said that I better do something before it’s too late. But I am losing faith and confidence now.

I answered:

It is understandable that you are frustrated, but you have no reason to be disappointed in yourself. Working your recovery is important, and it takes character, commitment, and faith. 

Life is not racecourse, especially not life with Jesus. There is no standard route for a “good life” that you are falling behind. God has a plan for you today, and today that means being diligent where you are. You are building a foundation for the rest of your life. If you tried to just skip to where you feel like you should be, it would end badly.

Everybody faces adversity in life. Some of those friends graduating are going to find it incredibly hard to find a job. Some of those folks getting those great jobs will lose them for some reason or another. I don’t say that as some kind of mean “they will get theirs.” I say it because there is not such thing as making all the right choices that lead to a totally easy life.

Romans 5:3-5 says “we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.” People who have been through some kind of traumatic experience such as addiction, depression, eating disorders, etc, and come out the other side have a more perseverance and character than anyone I’ve ever met. And those qualities acquired during tough times will serve you well throughout your life.

Most of the people who attend our Bridge service in Chicago have dealt with some addiction in their past, or are still actively dealing with it. A lot of those folks are twice as old as you are. We tell them every week that God has something good for their lives. We tell them that their past does not disqualify them from a future with Jesus. We tell them that because it is true, and it is true for you as well.

The great and wise Unka Glen was preaching to that room of people just this Tuesday about the idea of it being too late. He told the story of Jesus raising Lazarus from the dead. Think about that for just a second. Dude was dead, and it still wasn’t too late for him. It is certainly not too late for a young person who has learned lessons about faith, humility, and perseverance that it takes some people a life time to learn. Jesus has something great for you, and you are in a better position than you can imagine to receive it.

 

-Matt from The Bridge

Ask Us A Question

(missionusa.com/bridgebox)

Leave a Reply

