But here’s the thing about all that acceptance and affection I get from the people I minister to: they know I’m not bound by it.

They’ve seen me accept the very real possibility of them disliking me, even as I say what they need to hear.

I was preaching to a roomful of inmates once, and one of them came up to me afterwards, and said, “You know, you were all up in my business, telling me about why I do the things I do, and what I think of myself, and I got all mad about it, because I knew it was true, and all that frustration started coming out, and I decided to come over here and punch you.

But then I thought about it, and it took a lot of heart for you to say all that. And then I figured that you must have respect for me, to tell it like it is, and expect me to be man enough to take it. So I decided to come over here and give you a hug.”

Unka Glen from the June Bridge Box devotional

Get songs, sermons, bible studies and much more for only $8/month. Sign up at missionusa.com/bridgebox.

Leave a Reply

