The Battleground of Your Mind

Anonymous asked:

I’m fighting depression and anxiety, to stop them getting hold of me again, and I feel like I’m losing the battle.

I answered:

2 Corinthians 10:4-5 says:

“The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”

I can really relate to what you are going through. I have had, and still have, times where the thoughts in my head are conspiring against me.

The word “stronghold” makes me think of Helm’s Deep in the Lord of the Rings, or possibly something less dorky. If you are going to demolish a stronghold, it is going to take some time, and you are going to have to hold off some attacks yourself.  This stronghold is in your own mind, the enemy has territory between your ears. The onslaught is harsh, and some days it is all you can do to stand your ground. That is okay.

Notice that Paul doesn’t say you will destroy every negative thought forever, but take it captive. The battle is not lost when a negative thought pops into your head. That is where the battle begins.

When the thought occurs to you (such as: “if I don’t  get x perfect, my whole life is over”; or “I am not married because I angered God and He hates me now”, or whatever), you have to wrestle it out into the light. Does that feeling match up with scripture? What does a trusted mentor have to say about that? You can take that thought and make it an opportunity to reflect on the truth of how God loves you.

It takes practice, but you can do it. And you will keep getting better at it. In these situations, you may lose some battles but, as long as you are still fighting, you will win the war. 

 

-Matt from The Bridge

Ask Us A Question

(missionusa.com/bridgebox)

Leave a Reply

