Is Your Walk Feeling Stuck? The Answer is Service.

Anonymous asked:

I am struggling with how to make the Gospel relevant to my life and to the lives of my non-Christian friends. I believe in Jesus but I am unsure of what that looks like. I try to pray but I don’t hear anything from God. I listen to sermons and read the Bible but this all seems like head knowledge. I don’t have amazing stories to tell about how God did all these cool things because I honestly can’t think of any. Also, I don’t see how Christianity offers anything for my non-Christian friends.

I answered:

I think this is a question that a lot of people deal with in some form or another: what is my walk with the Lord supposed to do? And good on you for asking that question, because there are a lot of folks filling pews who don’t ever stop to think about that. They just keep showing up and going through the motions.

Luckily, the answer is laid out very clearly in the Bible. In Luke 10, Jesus is having a conversation with a man and asks him to sum up what life with God is about. The man answers: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’” Jesus tells him that he is right. So love God and love people.

The way to do that is surprisingly simple. It starts with service. People have this idea that they are going to pray enough and read enough bible to fill up their loving God tank, and then they will be holy enough to start loving people. That is not the way it works. If you start serving people: that could be kids at church, could be at a food pantry, an old folks home, volunteering with a ministry, that will take the prayer and Bible reading to whole new places.

Service also solves the cool stories problem. You giving up your time to serve someone is having a hard time is an amazing story in and of itself, and getting out into the mix will lead to plenty of craziness along the way.

As for what Christianity has to offer your friends: eternal life in paradise, a new heart, forgiveness for all your wrong, being free of guilt and shame, the Holy Spirit to guide you, there is a lot there. A totally changed life is what it has to offer, and seeing your friend so changed that they are caring for people like they didn’t before is the outward expression for that.


-Matt from The Bridge

Ask Us A Question

(missionusa.com/bridgebox)

Leave a Reply

