Whenever the phrase “I should…” escapes your lips, it’s time to be careful. “I should be in better shape, I should call my mother more often, I should read my Bible more.” On and on, this is all based on a false assumption that we are basically awesome, all- powerful beings, and if we can just get in touch with that reality, then we can can solve anything.

We can get lost in that world of “shoulding ourselves”. We can get lost there because, in fact, we are not all-powerful beings. You are – as I am – a mess and a work in progress. Just like the rest of us.

Unka Glen Fitzjerrell from the January Bridge Box devotional

Get songs, sermons, studies, videos, and more every month to strengthen your walk, while supporting urban missions in Chicago, for only $8/month. Missionusa.com/bridgebox

Leave a Reply

